Apparently pronounced Jarvis. There is something of a magical quality to these largely untouched ruins in the Ure Valley. It is a particularly lovely place to spend a Summer's evening. You can admire its picturesque setting amongst the grazing sheep and the grasses and flowers which still grow high up on the walls. This must be the last of the artists' view of a romantic English ruin. Privately owned, but always open to the public, there is an 'honesty box' in which to pay for entry.
For the more historical investigator, the remains are not without interest. The church has almost completely disappeared, but there are some interesting monuments including the weathered effigy of the abbey's great benefactor, Hugh FitzHugh (1307). The associated buildings stand to a much greater height. The Chapter House is nicely preserved, still with the columns which once held up the vaulting and their are good fireplaces in the Meat Kitchen.
The site is privately owned. There is an entry fee via 'Honesty Box'.
Next Stop: Bedale Church