| Tours > Ancient York > Archaeological Resource Centre|
by David Nash Ford BA,
History on Britannia
Archaeological Resource Centre
High Ousegate & Coppergate
One of the finest of York's many churches, All Saints stands in the centre of the earliest paved streets in the city: hence the name. The present building is mostly 14th century, though there has been a church on the site since Saxon times. It lost its aisled chancel in 1782 and a south transept in the 1960s! However, its gems remain. It is usually open to the public.
The strikingly elegant octagonal lantern, atop the tower, was erected in the last quarter of the 15th century. It was kept burning every night to guide those approaching the city through the wilds of the Forest of Galtres to the north. The splendid lion-headed door knocker or sanctuary ring is probably 13th century. The marvellous glass of the huge 14th century west window came from the redundant St. Saviour's. There is a monument to Tate Wilkinson, a contemporary of Garrick and Sheridan, who made York theatres the rival of Bath.
Next Stop: Coppergate
Copyright ©2007 Britannia.com, LLC Questions? Comments!