Monarchs of England
fter the Roman empire began to collapse and its political and military presence was withdrawn from the island of Britain around 410 AD, the resulting vacuum was filled by tribes of Jutes, Saxons and Angles from Denmark, Germany and the coastal areas of what is now Holland, competing for land and power. Seven main kingdoms emerged from the chaos, and became known as the Heptarchy. The seven were Essex, Sussex, Kent, Mercia, Northumbria, Wessex, East Anglia.

In, roughly, the middle of this period of Anglo-Saxon domination of Britain, the kingdom of Wessex established supremacy over the other leading kingdoms, and their line of rulers became the first to have claim to the title of King of All England.

To learn more about a particular monarch, just click on his or her name in the scrolling list in the frame to the left. Be patient, though, since we are still working on these pages! They are fairly complete up to 1066. The rest will follow, shortly.

Return to History Home Page
Timeline of British History
Building Blocks of British History

History | Travel | Wonders | Wales | Sports | News | NEW Panorama
Science | Church | State | Catalog | Links | People | Arts | London

Comments: e-mail us at
© 1995, 1996, Britannia Internet Magazine, LLC